Dark Chocolate, Dulce de Leche and Pear Torte

At a dinner party a couple of months ago, I was treated to this delightful creation: dark chocolate, dulce de leche and pear torte. This dessert came from a small Italian bakery in Saint-Leonard, north of Montreal, that I had never heard of before. As soon as I tried it, I fell in love immediately. The tartness of the chocolate was offset by the sweetness of the caramel, and the pear added a much needed lightness and surprising, but subtle, burst of flavour.

Even though I knew I would never recreate the same amazing desert as the one I tried that night, I thought: why not give it a try and hope for something half as good? So, using these ingredients, I baked this torte and, with a few adjustments in mind for next time, this one is definitely a keeper.

Ingredients:

– Two to three soft, red pears
– Two packs of Bakers 70% cocoa dark chocolate
– One pack of puff pastry (I used President’s Choice)
– Three scoops of President’s Choice dulce de leche spread

5 responses to “Dark Chocolate, Dulce de Leche and Pear Torte

  1. ADL

    Looks delish-ious!

  2. Lys

    Rich and thick and chocolit! Yum.

  3. Joan Lindsay

    sounds absolutely scrumptious Can you do this for my birthday?..

  4. Vicky Stikeman

    i love this….soo easy.

  5. derek lindsay

    Truly delicious Megan. I dont have much of a sweet tooth but this tasty dessert had me.

Leave a Reply

