Fresh Butternut Squash Ravioli

Ever since I heard that you could actually make pasta (if and when you get the machine, a good recipe and of course, time), I have wanted to make my very own pasta dish. Seeing as my favorite pasta is ravioli, that was the pasta I was going to make. So, last Sunday, Sylvie (who came up with the pasta machine and a delicious sounding recipe) and I set out to make 30 perfect pieces of fresh ravioli. The recipe for the pasta was as simple as can be, but actually creating the pasta was a long and labor-intensive process.

When it came to the filling, we wanted it to be light and simple, leaving room for the actual pasta to be the star of the dish. With that in mind, we blended butternut squash, ricotta, olive oil, sage and a little salt and pepper. This gave us exactly what we were looking for; a fresh, simple and delicious filling.

As for the sauce, again we were looking for something simple that didn’t overpower the actual pasta. We decided on a duck stock, butter, sage and salt and pepper sauce that we added to the ravioli in a frying pan after a few minutes of letting the ravioli fry by itself.

In the end, the pasta turned out to be one of the most decadent and delicious foods I have ever made. The process was incredibly long and time consuming so I don’t know when the next time I will be making this dish again, but that’s not to say it wasn’t totally worth it.

5 responses to “Fresh Butternut Squash Ravioli

  1. derek lindsay

    Home made pasta is a big challenge but the hours and effort dedicated were worth it. Matthew is the King of Pasta and a tough critic and it passed with flying colours. It was a real treat… thank you!!

  2. Susan Sambrook

    Not sure if I have the guts to try to make the pasta myself – what a learning experience? I would love to be served this one day…

  3. Jill Hugessen

    You made that? WOW!!

  4. T Lindsay

    YUMMY!!!!

Leave a Reply

